The Series of the Century: A Comprehensive Review of the Marvel Cinematic Universe

Updated: Jan 21, 2020

Prologue – Overview

It began with Iron Man..

Nobody could have predicted the international phenomenon the Marvel Cinematic Universe (MCU) would grow to become, yet it now enjoys the position of the single most profitable film series of all time. The MCU Infinity Saga culminated in the most profitable film of all time – "Avengers: Endgame" – which made over $2.5 billion.

This series of reviews will be centered around a comprehensive map of the MCU’s Infinity Saga, from Iron Man to Spiderman: Far From Home, with in-depth dissection into every aspect of the films: from story, to music, to cinematography.

It would be best, therefore, to outline how, and approximately when, this will all come together.

Below are the Phases into which the reviews are to be split:

Phase 1: Roots and Beginnings

- Iron Man

- The Incredible Hulk

- Iron Man 2

- Thor

- Captain America: The First Avenger

- The Avengers

Phase 2: An Age of Heroes

- Iron Man 3

- Thor: The Dark World

- Captain America: The Winter Soldier

- Guardians of the Galaxy

- Avengers: Age of Ultron

- Ant-Man

Phase 3: The Infinity War

- Captain America: Civil War

- Doctor Strange

- Guardians of the Galaxy, Vol. 2

- Spider-Man: Homecoming

- Thor: Ragnarok

- Black Panther

- Ant-Man and The Wasp

- Captain Marvel

- Avengers: Infinity War/Endgame

- Spider-Man: Far From Home

These will be arranged in both order of

release and by order of chronology.

These have been the defining films of our age, and

a full review is absolutely what they deserve